What cities are in the Northern Arctic?

What cities are in the Northern Arctic?

1 Dawson City — historic Klondike gold rush town, now a National Historic Site. 2 Iqaluit — capital and largest settlement of Nunavut. 3 Inuvik — the most populous town in the Canadian Arctic, almost 200 km north of the Arctic Circle, at the inland end of the Mackenzie Delta and the northern end of the Dempster Highway.

Where is the northern Arctic ecozone?

Northern Arctic Ecozone. Covering 1.5 million square kilometres, or about one seventh of Canada, the Northern Arctic Ecozone extends over most of the nonmountainous areas of the arctic islands and parts of northeastern Keewatin, western Baffin Island, and northern Quebec.

What is the population of the northern Arctic ecozone?

Approximately 15 000 people
Approximately 15 000 people live in the Northern Arctic, and the majority of the population is Inuit.

What is the most northern ecozone in Canada?

The Northern Arctic ecozone encompasses most of Nunavut and a portion of both the Northwest Territories and northern Quebec. Physically, the western portion consists mostly of lowland plains covered with glacial moraine.

What are the major cities in the Arctic?

Whitehorse (32,308) and Yellowknife (21,888), the capitals of Yukon and the Northwest Territories respectively, are the two largest cities in the region. Iqaluit, the capital of Nunavut, is the third largest with a population of 7,740.

What cities are in north Canada?


Largest cities or towns in Northern Canada Statistics Canada 2021
Rank Territory
Whitehorse Yellowknife 2 Northwest Territories
3 Yukon
4 Nunavut

What provinces is the Northern Arctic in?

Northern Arctic Ecozone (CEC)

Northern Arctic
Area 1,507,872 km2 (582,193 sq mi)
Country Canada
Provinces Northwest Territories, Nunavut and Quebec
Climate type Polar

What ecozone is Toronto in?

Mixedwood Plains
The Mixedwood Plains is the most populated ecozone in Canada, with about half of the country’s total population. Thirteen of 25 major cities in Canada are found in this ecozone, including Toronto with 6.1 million inhabitants and Montreal with 4.2 million inhabitants.

What is the coldest Canadian vegetation region?

the tundra
Located in Canada’s Arctic, the tundra is treeless because of low summer temperatures (a mean less than 11OC) and short growing season (1.5-3.5 months). Small shrubs, mosses and lichens grow in this short period. Most of the tundra is permanently frozen ground called Permafrost.

What ecozone is Alberta in?

The Prairies Ecozone is a Canadian terrestrial ecozone which spans the southern areas of the Prairie provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba….Prairies Ecozone.

Provinces Alberta, Manitoba and Saskatchewan
Climate type Cold semi-arid and humid continental

How many cities are north of the Arctic Circle?

There are 10 cities with a population of around 30,000 or more which are north of the Arctic Circle and therefore have at least one day per year when the sun never rises. All of these cities are in Russia (mostly the northwest) or Norway.

What is the most populous city north of the Arctic Circle?

Murmansk is the world’s largest city north of the Arctic Circle, and one of the largest ports in Russia. The city lies on the rocky eastern coast of Kola Bay of the Barents Sea.