Who is the present Chief Election Commissioner of Nepal?

Who is the present Chief Election Commissioner of Nepal?

The Honourable Chief Election Commissioner Mr. Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya was born to Late Mr.

When was Nepalese first Constituent Assembly formed?

The first Nepalese Constituent Assembly was a unicameral body of 601 members that served from May 28, 2008, to May 28, 2012. It was formed as a result of the first Constituent Assembly election held on April 10, 2008.

Who exercise the executive power in Nepal?

Executive power is exercised by the Prime Minister and their cabinet, while legislative power is vested in the Parliament.

When was referendum held in Nepal?

A referendum on the system of government was held in Nepal on 2 May 1980. Voters were offered the choice between a non-partisan panchayat system and a multi-party system.

How many election constituencies are there in Nepal?

There are total of 503 national and provincial constituencies in Nepal; the House of Representatives (Parliamentary) has 165 constituencies (165 first-past-the-post constituencies and one nationwide constituency from which 110 members are elected by proportional representation), whilst the seven provincial assemblies …

How many members are there in Election Commission including its chairman?

Until 1989, the commission was a single member body, but later two additional Election Commissioners were added. Thus, the Election Commission currently consists of a Chief Election Commissioner and two Election Commissioners.

When was the second Constituent Assembly held in Nepal?

The Second Constituent Assembly of Nepal, later converted to the Legislature Parliament (Nepali: व्यवस्थापिका संसद), was a unicameral legislature of Nepal. It was elected in the 2013 Constituent Assembly elections after the failure of the first Constituent Assembly to promulgate a new constitution.

When was Nepal declared federal democratic republic state?

A Constituent Assembly election was held on April 10, 2008. On May 28, 2008, the newly elected Constituent Assembly declared Nepal a Federal Democratic Republic, abolishing the 240 year-old monarchy.

How democratic is Nepal?

Nepal is a federal democratic republic. The political system is based on the Interim Constitution of Nepal 2063 (2007), with a prime minister as the chief executive and a 601-member Constituent Assembly, which is responsible for drafting a new constitution.

Which type of government is in Nepal?

Parliamentary systemFederationFederal republicParliamentary republic

When was Nepal declared Secular State?

The Interim Constitution of January 2007 declared Nepal a secular state, while the first Constituent Assembly (CA) abolished the monarchy at its very first meeting in May 2008. Yet, the place of secularism was never fully secured during the long constitution-writing process that followed.

Why were Nepali people not satisfied with Panchayat system?

People were not satisfied with Panchayat system because: – It was the cruel autocratic rule. – People were deprived from fundamental rights and freedom. – Panchayat system was not devoted to nation development but to personal interests and benefits of the ruler.