WHAT IS ASIA Impairment Scale A?

WHAT IS ASIA Impairment Scale A?

The American Spinal Injury Association (ASIA) Impairment Scale (AIS) is a five-grade scale used to identify the severity of a spinal cord injury: A = Complete: No sensory or motor function is preserved in the sacral segments S4–S5.

What does the T8 vertebra control?

However, the nerves of each thoracic vertebra level communicate with different sections of the body. The T1-T4 thoracic sections control primarily chest muscles and organs, such as the heart and lungs. The T5 – T8 vertebrae affect the abdominal muscles, as well as some of the chest.

What parts of the body will be paralyzed with a T8 spinal cord injury?

Individuals with injuries from T1 to T8 usually affect control of the upper torso, limiting trunk movement and sensation as the result of a lack of abdominal muscle control. This can affect balance as well as proprioception (where your body is in space).

What does Asia mean in medical terms?

The American Spinal Injury Association (ASIA) impairment scale or AIS describes a person’s functional impairment as a result of a SCI.

What is T8 paraplegia?

Areas of the spinal cord that result in paraplegia are the thoracic, lumbar or sacral regions. An injury to the upper thoracic (T1 to T8), which is approximately adjacent to the chest, often results in poor trunk control. This can include impairment in breathing.

Where is T8 on body?

thoracic vertebrae
The T8 vertebra is toward the lower (caudal) end of the twelve (12) thoracic vertebrae within the central, torso section of the spine. Like the other similar T2-9 thoracic vertebrae, the T8 consists of a larger, heart-shaped centrum (ventral body) and an increasingly large vertebral arch.

Where is T8 in the spine?

thoracic spine
The T8 vertebra is the eighth vertebra in the thoracic spine, located in the middle of the back. The three sections of the spine are the cervical (upper) region, the thoracic (middle) region and the lumbar (lower) region.

What nerves are affected by T9?

For instance, T9 contains nerves that connect to the kidney area while T12 has nerves that affect the buttocks and lower abdomen muscles. Although the thoracic vertebrae are connected to ribs, only T9 and T10 have “true” ribs, or ribs that are fused into the chest’s sternum.

What does the neurological level of the spinal cord injury on the ASIA scale mean?

Classification of Spinal Cord Injury Severity First, instead of no function below the injury level, ASIA A is defined as a person with no motor or sensory function preserved in the sacral segments S4-S5.