How many members are there in Council of Ministers?

How many members are there in Council of Ministers?

According to the Constitution of India, the total number of ministers in the council of ministers must not exceed 15% of the total number of members of the Lok Sabha.

Who all comes under Council of Ministers?

Cabinet Ministers

  • Shri Raj Nath Singh. Minister of Defence.
  • Shri Amit Shah. Minister of Home Affairs and Minister of Cooperation.
  • Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari. Minister of Road Transport and Highways.
  • Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman.
  • Shri Narendra Singh Tomar.
  • Dr Subrahmanyam Jaishankar.
  • Shri Arjun Munda.
  • Smt.

How many maximum members can be in Council of Ministers?

of article 75. “(1A) The total number of Ministers, including the Prime Minister, in the Council of Ministers shall not exceed fifteen per cent. of the total number of members of the House of the People.

Who are the members in Lok Sabha?

Maximum strength of the House is 552 members – 530 members to represent the States, 20 members to represent the Union Territories, and 2 members to be nominated by the President from the Anglo-Indian Community.

Who are the three categories of ministers in the Council?

The COM consists of three categories of ministers, namely, cabinet ministers, ministers of state, and deputy ministers. At the top of all these ministers stands the Prime Minister.

What are the three types of ministers?

The Council of Ministers consists of three categories of ministers. They are: 1. Cabinet Ministers 2. Ministers of state 3. Deputy Ministers

  • Cabinet Ministers.
  • Ministers of state.
  • Deputy Ministers. Was this answer helpful?

Is Council of Ministers and Cabinet same?

Based on factors such as experience and seniority the Council of Ministers is divided into the following: The Cabinet. Minister of State. Deputy Minister….Difference Between Cabinet and Council of Ministers.

Cabinet Council of Ministers
The size of the cabinet is about 15-20 ministers The council of ministers usually consists of about 60 to 70 ministers of the government.